RSS

My Move Accross Canada

20 Mar

I moved away from my family and friends a few years back it is one of the hardest things I have ever done. Moving far, far away from the ones that drive you crazy and keep you sane all at the same time….lol … I think that there is nothing in the world other then family that you could possibly love and that can also drive you crazy all at once. It is something I have never regretted because I invite change, I challenge change to try and hinder my life…lol….change is what inspires growth, so as you can see I refuse to give regret the power it needs to hinder MY life…..I have experienced many things that others could only imagine…..I have traveled across Canada to follow my partner through his journey through life and I as with all change comes growth…..I have fed my caterpillar and she is slowly beginning to change…..

I wrote this account of my Move to the North West Territories way back in 08 to tell my tale to my family and friends back home I read it and re-read it and added the things that I didn’t think were important the first time around …

I had a uh-ha!! moment one time while cooking breakfast for some fishermen and listening to they’re fishing stories (another lessons learned.. time in my life) when I thought to myself ….If everything happened according to plan then one would never have any stories to tell……and well…. what fun is that!!! …. LOL

I hope you enjoy it

I have decided to account my trip in a note so I only have to write it once… (ok it’s more a short story…lol but it’s a true short story..lol)

Day 1:Mon.Aug.25
This is it …Away we go…stop at my favourite Tim Horton’s for my last one from my home town till who knows when…then off to see what life has in store for us on the other side of Canada….We left at about 2:00 pm when the truck was finely loaded (thanks to my amazing family for all that help) we drove to just about king City (just outside of Richmond Hill) and the U-haul broke down…..My partner thinks it’s the tranny….Garr…this was about 4:00 PM….huh !! 2 hrs in…. guess we know what life decided to have in store for us today ..lol.. Called head office of the rental company and they said they would get someone out as soon as they could and please do not leave the truck unattended….we can do that we were able to pull off the hwy…….10:30pm still at the side of the hwy this is 6.5 hrs in (with 3 children…and they have had enough (I’ve had enough) …so we called and told them we will be finding a place for the night….again they say but you are NOT ALLOWED to leave the truck unattended…..sorry we have children that need a bed!!!! (all of this is going back and forth to phone booths because you know we didn’t have cell phones at the time (because if I’m out I’m busy!!)….so by 12:00am we finely find a hotel that has a room for us…no pets…HA we get in there and the washroom is mould infested but NO PETS! you have to be kidding me!!!….so we call the U-haul company and l give them the # for them to call us so my partner can meet them with the keys when they show up. I get my Billy my cat and Buster Brown my dog settled in the truck for the night good thing it’s the end of August… and we crawl into bed and crash for the night!!

Day 2:Tues.Aug.26
woke up 8:00am call U-haul to see if they found anyone to tow us or fix it (because they never called us)….they say they picked it up at 7:00am but couldn’t get a hold of us….huh!! did we not give them our # at the Motel last night ???….Where did they take it & how do we get there? …..Brampton ok we are on our way……..10:00am I take the kids to McDonald’s across the road and my partner goes to talk to the people in the U-Haul……then he comes in just before 11:00 am and says they have to talk to head office and we have to come back in an hour…..we return and they ask us to come back in a couple of hours..ok they still don’t know ……come back in another hour…..2:00pm we finely get an answer they are sorry but it will take 3 weeks to get a new tranny in… so sign this waver and here are your options…. you can wait for it at your expense….. or….. you have to unload it all at your expense and reload another truck…….A EXCUSE ME!!!….or…. you can supervise as WE(the rental company) unload and reload into another truck….OK sounds good…. sorry #3 is not an option we don’t have the man power and no they can’t afford to let even one person help you either…..hah!!!…do you see where this is going….ha-ha

so let’s get this straight ……..
#1 : 3 wks to fix (not really an option we have to be on the other side of the country in 2 weeks)
#2 : we unload…and then re-load another truck
#3 : they unload and re-load another truck(not allowed to pick that one remember )

#2 it is !!!! after much arguing about why it takes them 3 weeks to fix a tranny and others 12-24hrs…….and why not a one of the 10 Men we see walking around in uniform doing nothing could not be spared to help us unload??? we start looking for Moving companies…….not so easy because now it’s the last week of Aug. and 4:00pm by now……….ok lets get a Motel get these kids (who are being the best children ever!!!!! by the way for being in U-haul all day) some TV or something (we did go MacDonald’s for lunch…with play land)……..Motel 6 nice place No mould…..and takes pets….things are looking up ..LOL…..start calling for movers Head office will reimburse us up to $200.00 for movers…… after a few phone calls we find out it’s min.$400.00 for movers…LOL of course…and that is only if we can find one to do it on the last week of Aug….really!!! but am I really surprised…uh NO…lol

Day 3: Wed.Aug.27
Wake UP!!!!! …..we are sooooo tired and haven’t done anything yet….9:00am we crawl out of bed back to McDonalds…..ugh!!!!! still trying to find movers……and My partner being the stubborn man that he is, refused to call family for help he says they helped enough….(ok and they helped only because I asked for help he never would have!!) they give us a truck and we start unloading …..11:00am I’m still trying to get movers….can they call us back(still no cell)U-Haul says in Not so Nice tone ….. if they can get through they will let us know if we get a call…..ugh!!!!……and I must wait in line to use the phone to call them back…..this office wins the award for the worst service EVER!!!!….. so I then decide to go next door to ReMax and see if they will let me use the phone….of course I can ….sure…anything to help… call # I don’t remember and….two small men with big harts will help…. Yaaa!!!!…..they just have to finish another move and they will send us 2-3 guys it should be about 4:00pm they ask us to call them back at 4 to see where they are …..thank you!!! .. Thank you!!!!!….things are looking up again….ok by then its 1:00pm we have unloaded since about 10am mostly my partner because I’ve been on the phone trying to find movers…The kids are still amazing!!!!….sure you can ride your bikes they’re unpacked anyways…. but only between the 2 Trucks…..still moving things from one truck to the other the more we get done before the guys from the moving company get here the faster it will be done….as we are working a gentleman from ReMax comes to help us (with heart condition by the way) what a saint this man was and he wouldn’t take no as an answer, Now during all this moving furniture and boxes we see u-haul employees sitting and watching us unload and it is really really getting partner’s goat……but we keep trekking along ..ha-ha what else con we do…lol…4:00 call I go back to ReMax to call the movers….no they still are not done call back at 5……we are almost done !!!….woo hoo!!!
just the boat and really big stuff left …..oh no not much room left and we are not sure what we did wrong ..but you know when you take something new out of a well packed box, you know you will never get it back in the same way…lol….so come 5:00 pm I call the movers and no they still are not done but almost they will be done soon…..go eat and wait till the movers come see if they can figure this box out?………6:30pm…….their here…. we feed them pizza and pop they help with boat and the rest of the stuff all done!!!!! and it’s only 7:45pm….and $400.00 later the movers are gone (oh ya ) the gas 1/4 tank in the truck!!!! hay isn’t that just like the first one only it’s still full because we filled it and only drove for 2hrs …….guess that ‘s another 200.00 to fill this one…….after an hour of fighting again they reimbursed the 200.00 for the gas….back to motel 6 we’ll leave in the morning.

Day 4: Thurs.Aug.28
omg! we are leaving Brampton…….9:30am after breakfast and a stop at Timmies… we are on our way….hehehe…3.1/2hrs later we need gas again …..great we got a gas guzzler….we decided to take hwy #11 so we miss all the hills maybe less gas….New Liskard…. I am sooo tired I think the stress from the past 4 days is starting to kick in…oh NO!!!!! I see smoke coming out from the u-haul’s tires………GREAT……we decide to stop for the night …..pool…pets…arcade….food…..ok…..we can do this…. lets let the U-Haul cool down for the night…….kids had fun yaaa!!!!…all’s well with happy kids…ha-ha

Day 5: Fri.Aug.29
off we go again…8:00am Thunder bay here we come!!! should be their by 6 maybe visit Connie(a friend)…9:00pm finely we stop kids are cranky….partner is cranky….ok maybe I’m Cranky….and we are only in Nipigon…..only stopped for lunch at 1 and dinner at 6 and gas……so much for visiting…..No more smoke from truck’s tires….things are looking good …guess life decided to give us good day even if it did take us longer then we had expected…. whew!!!…..nothing exciting just tired…..off to bed.

Day 6: Sat.Aug.30
uh-oh!! off at 10:30am …we didn’t wake up……. WILL I EVER BE OUT OF ONTARIO!!!!!
promised my son before we left we would be at a Motel by 5:00 today to watch a movie he has waited for all month long on YTV…..Boy is he spoiled…lol ..ok but we should be in Yellowknife by now and they were really really good at U-Haul…..so another short day and we stop in Kanora I think……it’s becoming all a blur by now….still in Ontario though… it just won’t let go! it won’t let us leave!….agh! …….we stop rush in and get the last 15min of the movie ……..time change…… what a waste of a night could have gotten to Winnipeg…..oh well we can get a good night sleep and maybe our energy will return…lol

Day 7: Sun.Aug.31
off at 9:00am ok that’s better…..we break free!!!!! Ontario has lost its grip!!!… this day very uneventful thank god I need a break…lol Stopped in Saskatoon

Day 8: Mon.Sept.1
Guess the kids won’t start school on the 2nd oh well ……make it to Alberta….lets go shopping….School stuff….new camera….I can take pic now….I see the end! we stop in Edmonton Travelodge… pool….waterslide…pets….food…good

Day 9: Tues.Sept.2
I think we’ll stay an extra day at the poolside, I think we’ve earned it ….lol

Day 10: Wed.Sept.3
well rested off 9:00am want to make it to Enterprise by tonight….My Baby girl does not look to good….stop for lunch she feels really hot she has a fever….Great….I don’t feel all that great either….can’t check her temp forgot to leave a thermometer out….stop and get meds…for her to take since I can’t check her temp…. and spend 1hr trying to get her to take it(she hates med’s but she feels really hot ……My partner almost ran out of gas…now he is really cranky …..and we crawl in to High Level at 9:30pm…… need a Motel My baby needs a bed ..I need a bed…. one day left tomorrow we will be there……

Day 11: Thurs.Sept.4
we are off 9:00 am was up till 1:00 am doing laundry in the Motel and making sure everything was packed we needed clean cloths we only packed for 5days not 11 and this was the first place that had laundry…

ok I’m pumped we are almost there it may be a long day but we will arrive…oh my there really is nothing…. absolutely nothing but wilderness and Buffalo for the whole drive ..we arrive at the ferry kids are excited never been on one before last gas station till we arrive in Yellowknife better fill up or we wont make it and we end up on the side of the road with no gas and nothing around for hundreds of km…lol…. ..hehe…I see a sign 95km till Yellowknife 2hrs to go U-Hauls very slow……oh no !!!!!! what was that bang…… oh no !!!!It’s raining Tires……U-Haul tires……I can now laugh like the crazy women that I feel like…lol….once again we all climb into the truck that I have been driving and can you pic this ..My partner Driving…my son in the middle and me at the end with Buster Brown ( my dog) on top of my lap(he is an auzzy .. Not a lap dog ..lol…..my oldest daughter….Cat cage which takes up half the seat and my sick baby(ok she is 5 and not really a baby) in the back…..boy does this feel familiar…..didn’t we do this for 3 days in Brampton…lol….but at least we are almost home………..

We arrive at 8:00pm…..I got the giggles…..I think I have lost my mind…..we walk into the our new home that we have been supplied with by my partners work….wow this is nice ….ok bit of a mess they are dry walling the ceiling but I can live here 3 bdrms good……oh hello!!….your name is Mike you live here too……giggles are back…..take a deep breath…..one thing at a time…..lets see if u-haul will be able to get us our truck….. and we can get some warmer cloths …….maybe I’ll just move into the truck…lol..yep that just may be a good idea….because now I just lost a bedroom so now it’s a 2 bedroom……U-Haul spends all night calling us every couple of hours to let us know that they haven’t found us yet…(maybe because we are in the middle of nowhere)…lol…and to let us know that we are NOT ALLOWED to leave their truck unattended….and don’t know who will tow the truck to us…little do they know that there is no cell service just a few km out of town and we’ve done this before do they really think we will stay out there all night when they cant even find us!!!!…….so all 5 of us crawl into the king-size bed that is in the master bedroom and crash……..the dog decided to join us on the bed too we were soooo cozy….

Day 12: Fri.Sept.5
U-Haul found a repair shop they will get the truck sometime today. my partner drove out to get the boat off the U-Haul(the one we were pulling not the one inside)and we got our truck back 8:00pm…..guess I’m not going to get some warm cloths till tomorrow….

Day 13: Sat.Sept.6
we unload some stuff but take our time because U-Haul can wait for their stupid truck for all I care and I have to pick and choose what we bring out….you know having a strange man living with us and all….OH and work want’s to know when partner will be back to work is tomorrow good……..ah NO!!!!!!!duh……ok so they want him to tell them by tomorrow if it will be Mon or Tues……Flight left Tues Sept.9th at 7:00am…..(he works out of town).

I get to live with a strange man while my partner lives in another town while he works ……ummm what was I thinking!!!

And I must say that I think I was born to live here I feel very much at Home here in Yellowknife…….OK I may have lost my Mind somewhere in the last few weeks….lol…..and maybe I’ll change my mind after my first winter…lol I guess we’ll see what life has in store for me in the next chapter…..

love and miss you all xoxox
and by the way if my mind wanders back Home could you mail it on back to me

I Think that life has shown me how to take life one day at a time and not only with a grain of salt but with a touch of humour…ha-ha.. Because everything that happens is a chance to grow as a person this is what I have taken from this wonderful voyage…and I let you know how my trip home goes…. if I have any luck it will be just as wonderful….lol

This is how Life Becomes Me….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2011 in Change, Choices, life, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Move Accross Canada

  1. Nathalie

    March 22, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I love what your writing. I like the way you write your stories. I could never write so eloquently. They way you put things down on paper, it’s nice to read I could see you writing a book. Don’t know what about but I love the way you write.
    Luv Nat

     
    • Life Becomes Me

      March 22, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Thank you so much that means a lot to me that you enjoyed it…I’m happy that my block is gone it has been so long since I have written anything and I feel a little rusty…LOL
      lov you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
