RSS

FRIENDSHIP

29 Jun

Describe your BEST FRIEND from Childhood…..what did you do together?……this is today’s question……I think I love this question.

Friendship……. friends are the ships that keep you afloat when the holes are too big and the waves too high…

Childhood friends are friends that you make and play with when you are a child. Some grow with those friends and some grow away from those friends….some move away …..some move back ……and some friends never change ……

I as a child moved many times so it was not easy making friends…The longest I lived in one home was 3 years…..I became an expert at being the new kid. I have counted the amount of times I have moved and my number is 37 times so far …..and well I’m 37 years old so you can average that out to once per year ..haha…so as a child I was always the one that moved away ….but I have also been the one to move back ….I have grown away …and have also grown with…….. some of the most amazing friends …..

I consider myself a lucky friend …..for I do not have many people I call friends but the few I do I cherish deeply….I have one friend that I would call my childhood friend …..I met her when I was in the 6th grade…..I was the new kid of course…and she was the one that moved back….we were brought together by an old friend of hers all the way back from kindergarten… (OK we were 11-12..haha ) who was also a new friend for me….That year was a tough one …haha…puberty starts kicking in around that age and I was known to be a little bossy back then ..haha…their were some fights and some making up and the year ended with her and I becoming the best of friends and ready to conquer Middle School…

We spent that first summer going for bike rides all around the city,going swimming, pick nicks in the cemetery…I know it’s a little morbid but it was quiet and right on the lake ..haha..we enjoyed it…. we also pick nicked in the royal botanical gardens so not all morbid…haha….we even got lost and found together…

I moved halfway through the next year to the other side of the city but we had a good foundation and I got my first phone so we still talked and hung out every once in a while …..but at the end of grade 7 I moved to Quebec I remember feeling like I lost my best friend…haha…ok well I was losing my best friend ….but she was a dedicated friend and promised to  write and so in the following year I wrote letters to my two best friends that I left in Ontario….I didn’t mail very many letters but I wrote many…haha that year was also the year that my parents divorced and my father moved back to Ontario so when I would go see him I would call my friend up and we would trade shoe boxes of letters hang out and take them back with me….

Now life works in mysterious ways sometimes….The year I was starting High School I moved in with my father so back to Ontario I went I was so excited to move back but we moved to a new part of town and I was a little sad and scared to be starting High School by my self and not knowing any one ….I called my childhood friend and her grandmother tells me they have moved and she gives me her new # …… I found her just a few blocks away from my new home…..And for the first time in my life I would not be starting a new school by my self ..haha….this was going to be a good year….

we were teens… we grew…we learned ….we got in trouble …. our bond got stronger we made new friends…but still we were close and nothing would separate us….not even BOYS…haha ….but once again I moved to another city and we slowly grew apart she hung out with people I didn’t know and slowly we grew apart but always talked on the phone and never forgot a birthday …..over the years we went our separate ways…She continued school and I started a family but we have always made the effort to stay in touch even when life worked against us …

I think that over the years if she had not made as much of an effort as she did we may not still be friends and I thank her for that because if she hadn’t I would have missed out on the wonderful women, Friend,and Mother she has become (sniff)….haha…I still don’t see her much nor do I talk to her often (I do live on the other side of the country)but I cherish every moment I do….there is a bond between us that I will cherish till the end of time… I do think she is the better friend there have been times that I feel like I wasn’t there for her when I should have been but I think she knows that I wish I could have been the friend that she needed and I always sent her all my love.

OK I started writing thinking I would talk about all the wonderful friends I have but it became all about one ….haha….but I do have a few more that I cherish as much as her that I want to talk about….

one is my Sister she truly is one of my best friends and wishes nothing but the best for me…. I can trust her and she will always be there for me no matter what …even if she does THINK she knows better ….haha… 😛

another one is someone who I met in the 9th grade and boy did the four of us get in trouble!!!…haha….and I remember feeling like the other 2’s parents thought my sister and I were the bad influence but I think I kept them reeled in a bit because boy did they get in trouble when I moved away …haha….her and I  grew apart as adults but have recently reconnected and it pleases me because when you have friends like these that you can be your self with it makes the rest of the world look less scary.

now my last childhood friend that I have… I think we are complete opposite’s but for what ever reason we clicked from the first time we met when I was 15 and she stole the last table in Tim Horton’s right from underneath me …haha…she is just one of those people who accepts you for who you are and she is someone who not only do I trust her with all ….but I think she knows all !!!!…..not someone I would ever want upset with me……haha

These four Women …….I would trust with all my secrets….( OK I have to…. I think combined they could hurt me !!!!…..haha…).These four Women I don’t have to trust with all my deep dark secrets because they were there and know them all ……and do you know why they were there ……

Because Friendships……. are the ships that keep you afloat when the holes are too big and the waves too high that’s why ……

They are the leaves that feed this Caterpillar to help me morph into my Butterfly….

And this is how My Life Becomes Me…….

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in Change, Choices, life, week post 2011

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “FRIENDSHIP

  1. edwincov

    July 2, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Wow, that’s awesome. I like the question too, it made me really think.. I was a weird kid..

    Edwin
    http://awkwardlist.com

     
    • Life Becomes Me

      July 3, 2011 at 6:15 pm

      Well thank you For the comment …..but we are all a little weird and odd that’s what makes us each unique 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
